Life is like a mirror. It’ll smile at you if you smile at it

New life motto. I quite like this saying and I’ve decided to take it on board and live by it. After all, the best thing you can wear is a smile right? (Personally I think a onesie is the best thing you can wear, but hey, that’s just me). Anyway, what I’m getting at is the fact that you get out of life what you put in. If you approach difficulties like a challenge rather than a threat, I think you’re already off the first step. And that’s the hardest bit! Changing your attitude is one thing that will influence every other action you do, and I certainly realised that this weekend.

Early on Saturday morning, I hopped on a quick flight to Ireland with my GB teammates David Bishop and Nick Beer ready for the Lough Cutra Triathlon. Part of the Castle Triathlon Series, this race certainly did not disappoint! How many people can say they stayed for a weekend in a CASTLE? And partied in there too?! Anyway, the race. So the last few weeks hadn’t been brilliant. Since racing BUCS I’d had a small issue with my calf and hadn’t been able to run since. To be honest, some days I struggled to walk so running really was out of the question! However, I was part of the GB team racing in Ireland and didn’t want to let my teammates down. I told myself to Rule 5 it and just get my head down and do my best. I’ve always had trouble with nerves before a race, and remember a few years back the numerous times I couldn’t eat, speak or do anything but cry or throw up before a race! Grim hey. Racing has always been more of a mental than a physical battle for me, and overcoming my inability to relax is my main priority this year.

Somehow, this weekend I managed to handle the nerves pretty well and had one of the best swims I’ve had in a few years. Me and Sadie headed out onto the exciting bike course and I came back into transition leading the women’s race (somehow I managed to crash AGAIN but I’m working on that ;)). The run wasn’t my best by any means, and hobbling around an off road 10k wasn’t the most fun I’d had! But I was happy to cross the line alive and help the GB team to take the win. Congrats to Amy Wolfe for taking the ladies win, David and Nick for taking 1st and 2nd and the two Irish guys Matt and Rory for putting on a good show and challenging us right to the end!

Huge thanks to the Castle Triathlon Series for putting on a fantastic race, I will most definitely be back to race next year. Luckily I wasn’t staying in the haunted turret of the castle so didn’t get to meet Murray the ghost, but I’m sure we’ll bump into each other next year! 😉

My next focus is getting this calf niggle better and good to go again so I can get some run training in and then getting into the race season good and proper! Blenheim is in two weeks, and I’m looking forward to some fast and furious racing. I also have the small matter of two university exams to get through, but as a part time student I’m quite lucky to have the pressure relieved a little bit. For now though, it’s time for a cup of tea, a curly wurly and some revision!

Over & out,

eli_teee xox

 

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

