Courage.

Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes, courage is the little voice at the end of the day that says “I’ll try again tomorrow”. After all, it’s not about how many times you get knocked down right? It’s how many times you can get back up. Isn’t that how it goes?

No matter how much you plan the way your life to turn out to be, chances are it’ll never follow that plan. There will ALWAYS be a hiccup or two (sometimes three, and maybe even four) but maybe that’s just part of the plan too. Or you know, thrown in just to add a bit of flavour. After all, what’s life without a little spice?

There will be a few times in your life when all your instincts will tell you to do something, something that defies logic, upsets your plans, and may seem totally crazy to others. When that happens, you do it. Listen to your instincts and ignore everything else. Ignore the logic, ignore the odds, ignore the complications and just go for it. Stepping outside of what is considered the ‘right thing to do’ might actually turn out ok for you, but you’ll never know unless you try.

When you think of some of the big milestones in life, most of them actually come in a relatively short space of time. Leaving home for the first time and going to university. Spending 3 years thinking you’re invincible and having the absolute time of your life at said university. Learning some of life’s very important lessons (21 vodka shots are NEVER a good idea, even on your 21st birthday). Graduating. Leaving home for good. Getting a job. Entering the ‘real world’. The first time you have to really pull your big girl pants up, put your best boots on and become an adult. It’s scary, and something I as a young girl, thought of as being way way WAY into the future. But it sneaks up on you, and suddenly your entire life is packed up in the car and you’re on your way.

London, London, London. Oh wonderful London. Where do I start?! The place of dreams, or the place of nightmares? No, of course it’s not that bad. In fact, it’s actually turning out pretty damn good. But let’s go back to the beginning…

Monday morning. A new day. A new week. A new career lined up. GO TIME! Ever the obsessive timekeeper, naturally I rocked up half an hour early. They couldn’t fault my eagerness. It became apparent to me from day one that this was going to be a complete change. And in all honesty, I hated it. Every single minute of it. The job itself was challenging, but not in the way I wanted it to be. It was challenging to drag myself into the office every day, knowing full well that I didn’t want to be there. Luckily, on the day I started, so had 12 others and kudos to them, they really were the people that kept me there. If it wasn’t for them, there is no way I’d have been turning up the next day. But two weeks later, I still hated it. I gave it a bloody good shot but I really couldn’t stand it and I had to leave. Who’da thought it, two weeks into the real world and I become an unemployed university graduate struggling to pay my bills. Fitted right into that trend didn’t I! It was a big step into the unknown, completely against any logic that I might have thought I had, and I’d actually like to apologise to my mum and dad at this point for putting you through what I did. The tears, ohhhhh the tears! They flowed alright. But I’m glad they did. The opportunity I was given was something I can never take for granted and something I have promised myself I never will.

A new flat, a new job and essentially a new life later, and I can finally say I’m happy in London. My flat is my happy place. My housemate Caspar makes a good cup of coffee and a mean veggie burger too. I’ve joined a swimming club, checked out the local run routes and ventured into Surrey for a nice long bike ride with a long-time family friend Henry. I’ve also been motor-paced round Regents Park by a Jamaican guy in a motor powered bobsled (I KID YOU NOT!!!) but I did not kiss the lucky egg. I’m now working in marketing, and although I spent a fair bit of my degree studying marketing, I know I have a lot of learning and catching up ahead of me. But this challenge is different. I WANT to be better at my job. I WANT to be successful and I WANT to learn the tricks of the trade. I get up in the morning looking forward to going into the office, excited to see my colleagues, who I can already call my friends. I’ve learnt so much from Sophie and Sarah and I am so thankful that they are happy to work with me. And I really cannot show my gratitude enough to Jane for giving me this opportunity and really saving my bacon. You guys all rock x

Another big thank you to my guardian angel in disguise. Sharon Lewis, thank you thank you thank you for everything. It all started with a milkshake on the beach in Aberystwyth. And look where it’s got me. You’re a star and I owe you.

So, that’s me. And perhaps the end of one very little chapter and the beginning of the sequel?! I don’t know. My time in recruitment may not have lasted long (let’s be honest, did I ever expect it to?!) but I have a feeling I’m going to be quite happy from now on. I’m looking forward to a housewarming this weekend (21 vodka shots will NOT be consumed) and really excited about what’s to come. It’s a big scary place is London, one of the busiest places on earth yet holds the capacity to make you feel incredibly lonely at the same time. But I’m not going to let that stop me from having as much fun as I possibly can and enjoying my time here. Three cheers for rainbows, smiling and happy vibes 🙂

Peace,

eli_teee
xox

“I just wish that I could bake a cake made out of rainbows and smiles, and we’d all eat it and be happy”

tumblr_m7ixzuaqbb1rwbl7wo1_500_large

IMG_1686

IMG_1690

Leave a Reply

