Venture – ‘a risky or daring journey or undertaking’

I think of my life as a series of ventures; constantly changing direction, shifting my path, adjusting my sails so to speak. Life without risk is a life not worth living, and being daring enough to undertake those ventures shows you what life is all about.

My last blog was extremely positive, and I promise this won’t be a negative turn! On reflection, it’s positive as I’ve learnt so much about myself in the last few weeks that I never would have done had this not all blown up in my face.

So about a month ago, a lot suddenly changed. I found out that essentially my job contract had been cut (despite initially being told otherwise). Oh poo. My first thoughts were: ‘how am I going to pay my rent?’, ‘I’ve just bought a car… how am I going to pay for that?’, ‘what am I going to do with myself?!’. I handled the situation pretty well though I thought, managed to get the facts sorted and come up with a few different options, or should I say a few different ventures that I could take?

I found a job very similar to my current role, and quickly got down to the application. I spend days on it, ensuring everything was perfect to make sure that I got myself an interview. The interview invite came, and the subsequent interview preparation began. On the day of said interview, I was feeling confident and knew I had a good shot at this. I HAD to get this job!

But then someone decided I needed a little plot twist.

I didn’t get the job.

There were a few tears, a bit of panic, and a touch of questioning as to why I wasn’t good enough. I’d failed, yet again. Failure, defeat, anger, frustration, hate; words I never want to use to describe what I felt. But then I realised that self-hate can be the worst enemy and I didn’t need to break myself down any more than that rejection already had. Forget wallowing in self-pity and picking out all my flaws you silly sausage! I just needed a new venture 🙂

So I sat myself down with a cup of tea and a curly wurly (obviously) and decided that I needed to something that scared me a little, challenged me a little more, but excited me even more than that!

My two passions are 1) sport and 2) helping people. Ok, I thought. Why not mix the two? Combine the two things that genuinely make me happy?! Of course I should! Within half an hour I’d decided. I signed myself up to complete a Sports Massage Diploma so that I could run with my dream of combining my two passions.

So out of a bad situation comes a very promising future. I’m looking forward to getting started on my course and am concentrating on doing all the groundwork at the moment. The website is under construction, business plans have been put in place and the excitement is really building. I’m so excited to be able to use my own self-motivation to move my life forward positively and (hopefully!) see results from something I’m working hard to achieve. Don’t get me wrong, I know it’s going to be an incredible challenge, but I’m so up for it that I just want to get started now! I can’t wait to be a qualified massage therapist and begin to learn what the profession involves and how to be the best massage therapist that I can be.

Keep your eyes peeled for updates on this by the way – the plan will all be revealed soon! 🙂

The current venture has enabled me to see a little bit beyond the next few months. With going back to studying next September (hopefully!), I needed something that I would both enjoy doing until then, but also be able to continue to pursue whilst at university. Boom tinggggg.
Peace, love and happiness,

eli_teee

xox

“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense” – Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Leave a comment